Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War – Chinese Censorship Hits Next Activision Game

Gamergate hangover as the Chinese Communist Party censors Activision’s Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War showing Tank Man, iconic moment where an unknown man stood in front a row of tanks during the 1989 Tienanmen protests. The Chinese government violently stifled these demonstrations, causing massive global rejection from human rights advocacy groups. Facing problems in its development and still managing to deliver, Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War tells the story of paramilitary operations in the Cold War era.

Gaming company Activision had to edit footage showing a controversial event from the late 1980s after the developer uploaded to the internet a teaser trailer showcasing the backstory for their next episode in the Call of Duty franchise, a long-running, award-winning, critically-acclaimed video game series available in virtually every consumer electronic device out there.

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War was the object of Chinese Communist Party censorship as the teaser trailer, which showed no gameplay and had an intense marketing campaign featuring a scavenger hunt in several websites and Call of Duty Modern Warfare.

The controversial game trailer uses segments from Thomas Schuman aka Yuri Bezmenov in a famous interview where he allegedly exposes the Soviet Communist Party’s strategy for the systematic infiltration and destruction of Western Society. The teaser trailer shows footage from the Vietnam War and the Tienanmen Square events of 1989. The bloody 1980s Chinese communist razzia left countless dead and many wounded in an era where social networks didn’t exist and reporters had to use their wits to defeat Chinese signals intelligence espionage.

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War Trailer

Chinese Censorship Version

The Chinese Communist Party systematically denies that the barbaric stifling of its citizens ever took place, and its attempts to save face from scrutiny regarding their political agenda meddling politics and soft power into mainstream pop culture via gaming.

Global Announcement Dates

  • Spain —Peninsula & Iles Balears— 19.30h
  • Spain —Canarias— 18.30h
  • Argentina 14.30h
  • Bolivia 13.30h
  • Brasil 17.00h
  • Chile 14.30h
  • Colombia 12.30h
  • Costa Rica 11.30h
  • Cuba 13.30h
  • Ecuador 12.30h
  • El Salvador 11.30h
  • USA —Washington DC— 13.30h
  • USA —Pacific— 10.30h
  • Guatemala 11.30h
  • Mexico 12.30h
  • Nicaragua 11.30h
  • Panama 12.30h
  • Peru 12.30h
  • Puerto Rico 13.30h
  • Uruguay 14.30h
  • Venezuela 13.30h

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War Announcement Date

Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War was announced on Wednesday, August 26, 2020. The Call of Duty Black Ops saga involves the evident success of Infinity Ward, the Woods storyline put the developer in the front spotlight of the first-person shooter gaming industry segment. The next title will be available for Xbox Series X, PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One.  The game had a delay while changing game directions during its development.

More Stories
Motorola Moto E7
Motorola Moto E7 Details Available Using OSINT